2019 Triathlon Results

Spring bank holiday; Monday 25th May 2020

Lion's Triathlon Number 28  May 2020

The first triathlon organised by the Tonbridge Lions Club took place in 1992 and, apart from one year when the event was called off because of police concerns over road safety, it has continued unbroken ever since.  So, 2020 will be the 28th triathlon organised by the Lions.

There were 462 Entries to this year's race.  Sadly, a fatal accident on the A21 resulted in the road being closed and traffic diverted along Hildenborough Road.  As a result, for reasons of safety, the cycle discipline for some of the last competitors in the Sprint event had to be curtailed and in the case of both the Relay and Go Tri had to be cancelled altogether.   In addition, some competitors found themselves stuck in traffic and were unable to reach Tonbridge School Sports Centre in time. Otherwise, the race went off very well, with the following results.  Any competitor not listed below should visit the Stuweb website to view their placings and times    

Winner of the men’s Standard race:

Jack Josephy (above, receiving his trophy from Tonbridge Lion President Tom Simmons) in 2 hours, 29 minutes and 30 seconds. 

Winner of the women’s Standard race:

Saskia Ricks in 2 hrs, 44 minutes and 38 secs.

Winner of the men’s Sprint race:

Rob Parry in 1 hr, 13 minutes and 7 secs.

Winner of the women’s Sprint race:

Susan Fairfax in 1 hr 20 minutes and 58 secs.

Winner of the Relay race:

Rhodri Joyce in 34 minutes and 36 secs (No cycle discipline).

Winner of the Go Tri race:

Noamie Thompson in 14 minutes and 26 secs (No cycle discipline).